Pony Club Awards College Scholarships to Members

Six outstanding Pony Club members were awarded college scholarships through The United States Pony Clubs, Inc. for excellent sportsmanship, stewardship, and leadership through horsemanship. The recipients are chosen based on essay applications by a scholarship committee and administered by Pony Club according to the requirements for each opportunity.

The Dorothy Renfro Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually for higher education to an active Pony Club member who exhibits the qualities that Dorothy Renfro valued most: leadership, horse management, and volunteering time and energy to beneficial activities. She hoped to encourage horsemen and women in their academic pursuits. This year’s recipient of the Renfro Memorial Scholarship is Kassidy Woody, a C-1 Traditional/C-2 Horse Management/C-2 Flat member of Paradise Creek Pony Club. Kassidy will be studying equine/animal science, pre-veterinarian major.

The Stanley R. and Martha C. Helbert Scholarship is awarded annually to a Pony Club member pursuing a Liberal Arts degree in areas such as literature, music, theater, and visual arts, who have an overall GPA of at least 2.0. Recipient Brianna Nevins, a C-2 Traditional member of Run o’ the Mill Pony Club, plans to pursue a history major along with literature and psychology minors at St. Norbert College.

The Pony Club Jubilee Scholarships are awarded to Pony Club members for excellence in academic pursuits and outstanding achievements in Pony Club. Applicants have achieved a Pony Club certification of C-2 or higher. Elizabeth Larson, C-1 Traditional/C-2 Flat/H-HM Horse Management member of High Lakes Pony Club is continuing her education at Willamette University and is a second year recipient of the Pony Club Jubilee Scholarship.  Chelsea Hoyt a C-2 Traditional/H-B Horse Management of Wentworth Pony Club, will be majoring in equine science with an accounting minor.

The Anson W. H. Taylor Memorial Scholarship is sponsored by Pony Club and the Equine Land Conservation Resource in memory of former Pony Club President and ELCR founder Anson Taylor. The Scholarship is awarded to a current Pony Club member who has been active with and committed to efforts on behalf of land conservation. This year’s recipient is Kayla Bean, D-3 Traditional/H-B Horse Management member of Timber Ridge Pony Club, who will be attending the University of Iowa as a biomedical engineer major.

The Pony Club Triple Crown Nutrition, Inc. Scholarship is sponsored by Triple Crown Nutrition, Inc. to reward Pony Club members for excellence in academic pursuits and outstanding achievements in Pony Club, who have achieved a Pony Club certification higher than a C-2 and who has an overall GPA of at least 3.0. This year’s recipient is Emma Smith a C-1 Traditional/C-2 Flat/C-2 Horse Management member of Peachtree Farms Pony Club Riding Center. Smith will be pursuing biology/pre-veterinary and art majors.

For more information, visit the Pony Club Scholarship programs page on the USPC website.

About Pony Club - The United States Pony Clubs, Inc. (Pony Club) was founded in 1954 as a nonprofit national youth organization to teach riding and horsemanship through a formal educational program. There are approximately 10,000 Pony Club members in over 600 clubs and riding centers throughout the country. Many of the nation’s top equestrians, including several of our Olympic team members, business professionals, government leaders and career military officers, have roots in Pony Club. Traditional members range in age from as young as 4 through age 25. Pony Club also offers educational opportunities a growing number of adults through Horsemasters membership.

Press Contact: Shelley Mann
Pony Club: ponyclub.org, 859-254-7669

AHP has not verified the factual statements in any message and AHP assumes no responsibility for the contents of, or any damage resulting from, any communication in the Newsgroup. Publication in the Newsgroup is not an endorsement by the organization of any product, person, or policy.