About American Horse Publications (AHP)

American Horse Publications (AHP) has united equine-related publishing media, businesses, media professionals, colleges, and students for 50 years. AHP is a non-profit professional membership association that promotes excellence in equine media and is dedicated to excellence in equine media through education and communication.


American Horse Publications (AHP) strives to be the primary source of education, resources and networking for the equine media community. We believe a proactive approach in an ever-evolving communications-driven world allows us the flexibility and opportunity to promote, support and reward excellence in equine media.

2020-2021 Board of Directors

To learn more about this dedicated group of individuals who govern the association, click here.

Diana De Rosa, Jamie Samples, Larri Jo Starkey, Katie Navarra, Barrie Reightler, Emily Koenig, Jennifer Denison, Jen Paulson, Whitney Allen, Chris Brune, Pat Trowbridge. (Not pictured - Jeremy McGovern)


Editors and publishers of half a dozen publications were represented at an informal meeting in Lexington, Kentucky in 1970. They discussed a new idea advanced by Arnold Kirkpatrick, who at the time was editor of The Thoroughbred Record.

Kirkpatrick envisioned an organization of horse publications, an idea that raised eyebrows in some circles and fists in others. Horse groups didn't see eye‑to‑eye on many matters in those days and any thought of Quarter Horses, of Harness and Thoroughbred types getting together was considered by many to be a bit radical. READ MORE


American Horse Publications
Executive Director: Christine W. Brune

Mail: 49 Spinnaker Circle
South Daytona, FL 32119

Email: ahorsepubs@aol.com
Phone: 386-760-7743

Additional Contacts:

Newsgroup, Awards Contest, Membership, Conference: 
Chris Brune, ahorsepubs@aol.com

Student Programs, Regional Workshop and Gatherings:
Judy Lincoln, ahorsepubs2@aol.com

Webmaster: Christy West

The Inside Track Newsletter:
Jennifer Denison

AHP Webinars: 
Jeremy McGovern

Sponsorship Sales and Fulfillment: 
Patty Wise, (703) 713-2906;