2023 Equine Industry Vision Award

Sponsored by Zoetis and presented by American Horse Publications

The Equine Industry Vision Award is given annually for outstanding leadership, creativity, and meritorious contribution toward positive changes in the equine industry. This distinguished award is a unique opportunity to publicly acknowledge ingenuity, originality, and effective innovation that exemplifies commitment, dedication, and service to this industry.

Nomination Deadline Date: February 28, 2023

Materials must be submitted electronically on or before February 28, 2023.

EMAIL NOMINATIONS TO: Judy Lincoln, Equine Industry Vision Award Coordinator at: ahorsepubs2@aol.com


Nominees may include individuals or organizations. They may be recognized for a single outstanding visionary achievement or sustained outstanding contributions that have profoundly impacted the equine industry. Nominee must be a resident of U.S. or Canada.

In the case of nomination for a single achievement, nominees should have devoted themselves to a given task whose magnitude, significance, and repercussions warrant recognition beyond the purpose served. The achievement in question should be complete or measurable to the degree that the judges can accurately assess its consequences and degree of success.

Selection Criteria

The nominee’s performance in relation to the achievement(s) cited should demonstrate the following attributes and abilities:

1) The vision and innovation of a true pioneer.

2) Leadership, commitment, dedication, and willingness to serve.

3) Original and effective ideas or products, services, programs.

4) High moral, ethical and professional standards.


1) Deadline for nominations for the 2023 award is on or before February 28, 2023. The award presentation will be held on Friday, June 23, 2023, at the 2023 AHP Annual Conference in Tempe, Arizona.

2) Anyone is eligible to be nominated or to nominate. Nominations must be submitted electronically and emailed to ahorsepubs2@aol.com and must include the official nomination ballot plus any additional supporting documentation such as letters of recommendation, links to videos, websites, books, or articles. Maximum number of pages is ten (10). The nomination must describe in non-technical terms the nature of the achievement and the extent of its benefit, significance, and effects, focusing on those attributes of the nominee that were primarily instrumental in contributing to the achievement.

3) The person nominating a candidate must provide their name, address, and phone number so that the judges can follow up if needed.

4) The person nominating a candidate must provide the names of two additional people who could offer information on the nominee.

5) All non-winning nominations, including finalists from 2022, are encouraged to be re-nominated. A 2023 nomination ballot and collateral material are required for all 2023 nominations, regardless of whether the nominee has been nominated in the past.


The Equine Industry Vision Award Nominating Committee will review the nominations. The Committee will narrow the prospective list of nominees to no more than four (4) finalists, and the AHP Board of Directors, plus a Zoetis representative, will select the winner.

The winner will be notified to allow for travel arrangements and scheduling. Official announcement and presentation of the award will be made during the AHP Annual Conference in June.


AHP members are encouraged to share and publish information about the Equine Industry Vision Award in their publications and on their websites and social media for their readers and viewers before the nomination deadline and following the award ceremony. AHP will provide its members with press information and promote the award via the AHP Newsgroup and online.

Equine Industry Vision Award Trophy

The 2023 Equine Industry Vision Award recipient will be announced during a breakfast ceremony sponsored by Zoetis on June 23, 2023, during the AHP Equine Media Conference in Tempe, Arizona. The winner receives a lead crystal trophy created by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine and commissioned by Zoetis. The perpetual trophy for the Equine Industry Vision Award is displayed at the Zoetis offices. A smaller version of the award is given to the recipient as a cherished memory of this special event.

Past Recipients

For more information about the Equine Industry Vision Award, contact:

Judy Lincoln, Equine Industry Vision Award Coordinator, at 386-760-7743 or e-mail AHorsePubs2@aol.com

For more information about American Horse Publications, contact:

Christine Brune, Executive Director, e-mail AHorsePubs@aol.com