AHC 2022 Award Winners Announced

The American Horse Council (AHC) will honor the equine industry’s brightest leaders at its annual meeting and national issues forum June 7, 2022, at its conference in Washington DC with the presentation of the Van Ness Award, the Hickey Award and the Rolapp Award.

The Van Ness Award is named in honor of the late Marjorie Van Ness of New Jersey, a long-time leader and friend to the horse industry. This award is presented to an individual that best emulates the dedication and commitment of Marjorie Van Ness to the improvement of the horse industry at the state level.

The 2022 Van Ness Award winner is Lonny Powell. The son of a jockey, a lifelong member of the thoroughbred industry and long-time executive, Powell oversees the political, regulatory, legal, public relations and promotional activities of the Florida Breeders’ and Owners Association. He has served as a registered lobbyist in California, Washington, Oregon, Arizona, and Florida promoting the thoroughbred industry specifically, and overall, the equine industry. AHC President Julie Broadway stated “Lonny is a true champion of the equine industry whether working to successfully pass legislation or fighting against detrimental legislation.  He knows the halls of the state house and cultivates industry partners.”

 The Hickey Award is named in honor of past AHC President James J. Hickey Jr., who served AHC from 1993 to 2016. This award is presented to an individual who has been a great supporter of the horse industry and the AHC.

The 2022 Hickey Award winner is Dr. Josie Traub-Dargatz. Dr. Traub-Dargatz has one of the most impressive service records within the horse industry and provided significant support to the American Horse Council on behalf of the industry. She is a crucial presence at equine health conversations, and her years of service at Colorado State University made sure that the next generation of industry leaders have the knowledge and skill to contribute in the same way. Dr. Traub-Dargatz was a pivotal component to the success and continuation of the National Animal Health Monitoring Service’s 5-year Equine Study, the most significant USDA report for our industry. She also continues to serve our nation horse herd in her retirement, most recently agreeing to support the AHC’s support of the USDA’s development of a foreign animal disease diagnostician’s drill for African Horse Sickness, the first horse specific drill of its kind. AHC Director of Health & Regulatory Affairs Cliff Williamson added. “Traub-Dargatz has shown again and again that persistence and service has lasting impacts and because of her our horse industry is stronger, healthier and better prepared”.

The Rolapp Award is presented in honor of the late Rich Rolapp, who was President of the AHC from 1974 to 1993. This award is presented to a Member of Congress who has been a great supporter of the horse industry.

The 2022 Rolapp Award winner is Representative Henry Cuellar (D-Texas). Serving his ninth term in the U.S. House of Representatives, Congressman Henry Cuellar proudly represents Texas’ 28th congressional district, which includes the cities of Laredo, Mission, Rio Grande City, and San Antonio. As a member of the House Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies, which oversees all federal funding for agricultural programs, Congressman Cuellar has taken proactive stances on agricultural issues of critical importance to the 28th District of Texas’ rural communities.   AHC Government Affairs Liaison Mark Risso, stated “Rep. Cuellar is a major supporter of the agriculture and equine industry ranking as one of our top partners on AHC’s congressional scorecard.”

AHC will also honor those award recipients from 2020 and 2021 which were presented virtually.
2021 Hickey Award Dr. Peter Timoney; 2021 Rolapp Award – Senator Susan Collins (R-ME);
2020 Hickey Award Dr. G. Marvin Beeman; Van Ness Award Fred Sarver, and Rolapp Award Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR).

About the American Horse Council
As the national association representing all segments of the horse industry in Washington, D.C., the American Horse Council works daily to represent equine interests and opportunities. Organized in 1969, the AHC promotes and protects the industry by communicating with Congress, federal agencies, the media and the industry on behalf of all horse related interests each and every day.

The AHC is member-supported by individuals and organizations representing virtually every facet of the horse world from owners, breeders, veterinarians, farriers, breed registries and horsemen’s associations to horse shows, race tracks, rodeos, commercial suppliers and state horse councils.

For more information contact info@horsecouncil.org